Ahnenblattportal Forum Index
 •Portal  •Imprint  •Forum  •Search  •Profile  •Log in to check your private messages  •Log in   •Register  

 Problem with choice of the people

Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Yves AUBERT




Gender:
Age: 57
Joined: 10 Aug 2014
Posts: 13
Topics: 4
Location: France


france.gif

PostPosted: 17.08.2016, 08:43    Problem with choice of the people  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello,
I have a problem, If a double appears, the proposed list of double does not appear ( see the screenshot of my computer)
thank you for your response
Yves



PB choix doublon.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  36.59 KB
 Viewed:  2654 Time(s)

PB choix doublon.JPG



OfflineView user's profileSend private message    
Marcus
Administrator



Gender:
Age: 45
Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7440
Topics: 227


belize.gif

PostPosted: 17.08.2016, 19:22    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Never seen before and I'm not able to reproduce this. Does it work with other people or isn't this function working at all in this file?
If so, what about the example-files of Ahnenblatt. Does it work there?
Marcus

_________________
Fragen und Antworten rund um Ahnenblatt (Knowledge Base)

OfflineView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private messageSend e-mail    
Yves AUBERT




Gender:
Age: 57
Joined: 10 Aug 2014
Posts: 13
Topics: 4
Location: France


france.gif

PostPosted: 18.08.2016, 22:28    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello Marcus,
I downloaded again the software 2.95a and the examples but the problem is always present with the examples... Sad

OfflineView user's profileSend private message    
Marcus
Administrator



Gender:
Age: 45
Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7440
Topics: 227


belize.gif

PostPosted: 19.08.2016, 18:41    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Do you use the "zip-Version" or do you install Ahnenblatt with the setup-file?
Marcus

_________________
Fragen und Antworten rund um Ahnenblatt (Knowledge Base)

OfflineView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private messageSend e-mail    
Yves AUBERT




Gender:
Age: 57
Joined: 10 Aug 2014
Posts: 13
Topics: 4
Location: France


france.gif

PostPosted: 19.08.2016, 22:02    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

I install Ahnenblatt with setup file (full version)
Yves

OfflineView user's profileSend private message    
Marcus
Administrator



Gender:
Age: 45
Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7440
Topics: 227


belize.gif

PostPosted: 20.08.2016, 07:00    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Did you try to unsinstall, download the new version again and reinstall? If that doesn't help, can you test it with the zip-Version (just unpack it in a folder in your download-folder) on the same computer?
Remember to delete the zip-Version, to not get confused later with which programm you're working. wink
We have to detect, if it is dependent on your Ahnenblatt, your files or your Operating system/environment.
Marcus

_________________
Fragen und Antworten rund um Ahnenblatt (Knowledge Base)

OfflineView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private messageSend e-mail    
Jürgen T.




Gender:
Age: 56
Joined: 29 Dec 2006
Posts: 1445
Topics: 44
Location: Bernkastel-Kues (Mosel)


germany.gif

PostPosted: 20.08.2016, 10:12    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello,

i guess this happens, when you didn't save the data before typing in the double person.

_________________
Gruß
Jürgen

OfflineView user's profileSend private message    
Yves AUBERT




Gender:
Age: 57
Joined: 10 Aug 2014
Posts: 13
Topics: 4
Location: France


france.gif

PostPosted: 22.08.2016, 13:54    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello,
I install the zip version and it the same problem, Sometimes the proposals appear but it is random.
I try to save before the research but it is the same... (Jürgen T' proposal)
Yves

OfflineView user's profileSend private message    
Marcus
Administrator



Gender:
Age: 45
Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7440
Topics: 227


belize.gif

PostPosted: 31.12.2016, 04:55    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello Yves,

is this problem still there with the new version 2.96?
Marcus

_________________
Fragen und Antworten rund um Ahnenblatt (Knowledge Base)

OfflineView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private messageSend e-mail    
Fridolin




Gender:

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 558
Topics: 35
Location: Deutschlands Südwesten


germany.gif

PostPosted: 09.01.2017, 03:03    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Salut Yves,

j'ai rarement eu ce problème; mais plus depuis des mois. Ca a allé pour toi aussi maintenant?

If this happens, you still have the possibility to look after the person manually in the "all persons"/"toutes personnes" overview tab. I don't have an idea, either, where this comes from - but alas, it passed by for me.

EDIT: I've had a similar problem while entering a new person - say, as a child of somebody: After entering name and sex, I get a blank selection window asking which of the (0) persons to choose or to generate a new person. So maybe: No, it hasn't passed away - I still have the "problem", too. But in fact it's a question of comfort or style, isn't it? Everything works anyway.

FZiegler

_________________
Win7-64 pro, Ahnenblatt 2.97a - Daten via NAS, Programm lokal

OfflineView user's profileSend private message    
Yves AUBERT




Gender:
Age: 57
Joined: 10 Aug 2014
Posts: 13
Topics: 4
Location: France


france.gif

PostPosted: 15.02.2017, 10:30    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello FZiegler,
I always have the same problem. By taking all the people I have the complete list of my base.
Yes it works but it is longer to look for if the person exists or not...

Thanks

Yves

OfflineView user's profileSend private message    
Fridolin




Gender:

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 558
Topics: 35
Location: Deutschlands Südwesten


germany.gif

PostPosted: 15.02.2017, 12:11    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello Yves,

I can confirm a similar 'problem', which still appears: When I want to set a new person, I get a blank list of people where I'm asked to select the right person from. This doesn't make much sense. I don't remember whether it's always or only sometimes - or the cases when it happens.

Indeed, I haven't exactly understood your situation when it happens. Your wrote: ' If a double appears, the proposed list of double does not appear'. As far as I know, I mostly haven't a double matching already in the stored data. It only looks like I should have (in the opinion of the software). I just want to insert a new person (I don't remember whether it happens while setting a new person directly from the navigator or from another person's window).

In fact, I got used to the prompt and don't care much about it any more - usually I know the person is new and not yet part of the database. If you're not sure: When you switch to "All persons", I think you can type in the beginning of the name or even nane and first name (EDIT: no, you can't - see below), so you can look quickly if the person is already there or not. You don't have to scroll through the whole list.

But you're right: It would be nice if the automatism didn't fail all the time. So: ...waiting for a better description of the problem, so that Dirk B. can find the point of error. Now knowing you've still the same problem, I will try to document the case when the problem appears. Will take a few weeks. (in the navigator, in the )

The question from Marcus was: Does this happen in the sample database, too? Up to now, I haven't tried.

With kind greetings to France,

Fridolin

_________________
Win7-64 pro, Ahnenblatt 2.97a - Daten via NAS, Programm lokal


Last edited by Fridolin on 19.02.2017, 01:35; edited 1 time in total

OfflineView user's profileSend private message    
Fridolin




Gender:

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 558
Topics: 35
Location: Deutschlands Südwesten


germany.gif

PostPosted: 17.02.2017, 22:35    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello Yves,

unfortunately, my last post was wrong in one point: There is no possibility to insert a search term into the "all persons" list. So you really have to scroll through the list to find out, whether there is the right person already in the database or not. What a pity - because in other contexts, the same window pops up with the possibility to put a search string in.

But I've got an idea in which cases those empty 'select-a-person'-windows pop up: I've had the case for several times where I wanted to generate a new child or sibling that had the same name (or the same beginning of the first name) as its father - in those cases I got the empty selector window. I think the software found a person with a matching name and wanted to propose it - but then was restrained by finding out that it was already a related person. Maybe this suspicion is right.

@Marcus: Could we please have an error number for that?

Fridolin

_________________
Win7-64 pro, Ahnenblatt 2.97a - Daten via NAS, Programm lokal

OfflineView user's profileSend private message    
Marcus
Administrator



Gender:
Age: 45
Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7440
Topics: 227


belize.gif

PostPosted: 19.02.2017, 18:46    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm still not convinced that here is an error at all.

Maybe the function is just misunderstood?

« FZiegler » wrote:
But I've got an idea in which cases those empty 'select-a-person'-windows pop up: I've had the case for several times where I wanted to generate a new child or sibling that had the same name (or the same beginning of the first name) as its father - in those cases I got the empty selector window. I think the software found a person with a matching name and wanted to propose it - but then was restrained by finding out that it was already a related person. Maybe this suspicion is right.


In the example file of Ahnenblatt (Beispiel.ahn):
If I select "Beckmann, Josef Arthur Wilhelm" and go to his wife "Regina". There I want to add a new child (with the name "Robert"). After typing "Robert" and selecting "male" I get an empty field of persons, because nobody in my family can match this person. The only available "Robert Beckmann" is the father of Reginas husband and can not be the son of both of them.

If I want to add a Robert as her 2nd husband, I get a not empty list after typing "Beckmann" and "Robert", since the father of Josef could very well be the 2nd husband of Regina.

Is there a combination in your family where you don't get any proposals but would expect one (or even more?). If so, could you create such a situation in the example file too?
Marcus

_________________
Fragen und Antworten rund um Ahnenblatt (Knowledge Base)

OfflineView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private messageSend e-mail    
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   




Show permissions


Board Security

Powered by Orion based on phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
CBACK Orion Style based on FI Theme
All times are GMT + 2 Hours



[ Page generation time: 0.1136s (PHP: 87% - SQL: 13%) | SQL queries: 51 | GZIP enabled | Debug on ]