Ahnenblattportal Forum Index
 •Portal  •Imprint  •Forum  •Search  •Profile  •Log in to check your private messages  •Log in   •Register  

 Adopted children

Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Mathemagician




Gender:
Age: 67
Joined: 14 Dec 2014
Posts: 51
Topics: 16
Location: West Coast of Canada


canada.gif

PostPosted: 02.11.2016, 18:06    Adopted children  Reply with quoteBack to top

I am working on my family, and have a couple on my wife's side who have 2 adopted children. I have no information on their birth parents, so I have just added them normally as children, but with a "Note" that they are adopted.

Without reading the note, it appears that they are birth children of the couple, when viewing the layout in Ahnenblatt's navigator, but this is not a problem to me. Is there a better way to add adopted children?

_________________
Allen T.
British Columbia, Canada

"Little did I know how little I knew..."

OfflineView user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website    
Marcus
Administrator



Gender:
Age: 46
Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7459
Topics: 227


belize.gif

PostPosted: 31.12.2016, 01:40    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

You can currently only add them as "birth" children or not add them at all. In the 2nd case you can only store some information in the Notes-section.
I would do it just like you did. If you're not interested in the "blood-lines" just skip them and only follow the "family-lines". wink
Marcus

_________________
Fragen und Antworten rund um Ahnenblatt (Knowledge Base)

OfflineView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private messageSend e-mail    
Jürgen T.




Gender:
Age: 56
Joined: 29 Dec 2006
Posts: 1464
Topics: 44
Location: Bernkastel-Kues (Mosel)


germany.gif

PostPosted: 31.12.2016, 10:16    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello Allen,

as a workaround i prefer this:
I add "(adopted)" to the firstname and to the occupation.
So i can see this info in the navigator.
When i print a tree, first i delete the text in the firstname-field by "search" and "delete" and the information is still in the occupation-field that i show on the tree.

_________________
Gruß
Jürgen

OfflineView user's profileSend private message    
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   




Show permissions


Board Security

Powered by Orion based on phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
CBACK Orion Style based on FI Theme
All times are GMT + 1 Hour



[ Page generation time: 0.0985s (PHP: 82% - SQL: 18%) | SQL queries: 26 | GZIP enabled | Debug on ]