Ahnenblattportal Forum Index
 •Portal  •Imprint  •Forum  •Search  •Profile  •Log in to check your private messages  •Log in   •Register  

 Gedcom file don't load in 2.99a

Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Voyageur78s
Guest











PostPosted: 30.08.2018, 12:21    Gedcom file don't load in 2.99a  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello

I have been using Ahnenblatt for a long time (10 years) with my Gedcom files.
I am in 2.98 and I used without problem the 3.0 b5

I want to install 2.99a and/or 3.0 b6 and don't load my files?

Head of my Gedcom
_________________________
0 HEAD
1 SOUR ScionPC
2 NAME ScionPC Genealogical Management System
2 VERS 8.3.0.0
2 CORP Robbie J Akins
........
1 DEST Other
1 DATE 29 Aug 2018
2 TIME 17:46:04
1 FILE Schuster.ged
1 COPR Copyright 2017 - M. Schuster
1 GEDC
2 VERS 5.5
2 FORM LINEAGE-LINKED
1 CHAR ANSI
1 SUBM @SUB1@

Online    
Fridolin
Super Moderator



Gender:

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 2461
Topics: 129
Location: Regio Rhein-Neckar


germany.gif

PostPosted: 30.08.2018, 13:50    Re: Gedcom file don't load in 2.99a  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello Voyageur78s,

« Voyageur78s » wrote:
I want to install 2.99a and/or 3.0 b6 and don't load my files?


I'm not sure if I really understand what's on with your GEDCOM:
Have you already installed 2.99a and face problems loading your GEDCOM file, or are you just thinking of updating and not sure whether it will work or not?

To me, the GEDCOM header looks fine - but I'm not an expert.

If you are facing troubles while loading a GEDCOM file, could you tell, what's happening? Crash? Import summary saying anything?

Feel free to explain a bit.

Frido

By the way - the equivalent of AB 2.99a is Beta7 which is just out.

_________________
Aktuell Win10-64 pro 2004, Ahnenblatt 3.15 - Daten via NAS, Programm lokal

Empfehlung: Für die neue Version 3.1x alle relevanten Handbücher lesen! Book (es gibt mehrere!)

OfflineView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private message    
bjew
Super Moderator



Gender:
Age: 71
Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 3853
Topics: 119
Location: südlicher gehts fast nimmer (im Allgäu)


germany.gif

PostPosted: 30.08.2018, 18:05    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hallo Frido, er soll mal beim Importieren / Öffnen der Datei (mit AB) die Fehler-/Import protokolle einschalten und prüfen.
AB kann definitiv ANSI lesen

_________________
Bleibt gesund, Gruß
bjew (Bernhard) ------ manchmal etwas kurz angebunden - Support beendet (10/2020)

System: Win10 auf Laptop mit i7 --- Ahnenblatt 2.74, 2.99[o] u. V3.16

HiddenView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private message    
Fridolin
Super Moderator



Gender:

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 2461
Topics: 129
Location: Regio Rhein-Neckar


germany.gif

PostPosted: 30.08.2018, 19:42    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Voyageur78s,

I didn't realize that you maybe even don't get the GEDCOM import prompt: You only get it, if you have Extras > Options > General: "GEDCOM report after import" checked!

I would like to know if you get an error message within.

Frido

EDIT: The only remarkable thing in your GEDCOM file might be the character set "ANSI" - as it is not part of the specification (GEDCOM 5.5). But Ahnenblatt should understand it anyhow (as Bernhard stresses above).

_________________
Aktuell Win10-64 pro 2004, Ahnenblatt 3.15 - Daten via NAS, Programm lokal

Empfehlung: Für die neue Version 3.1x alle relevanten Handbücher lesen! Book (es gibt mehrere!)

OfflineView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private message    
Guest












PostPosted: 31.08.2018, 10:02    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello

It has always worked until 2.98 and even 3.0b5
Since 2.99a or 3.0b6
Loading of the usual Gedcom file hangs and does not appear / load

And nothing changed on my Gedcom!

Online    
Fridolin
Super Moderator



Gender:

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 2461
Topics: 129
Location: Regio Rhein-Neckar


germany.gif

PostPosted: 31.08.2018, 10:32    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Tiens!

Maybe you want to send Dirk your GEDCOM file, so he can see what's on! He will handle it with respect and delete it after testing.

It looks as if it's not in the beginning that the import gets into troubles. Whatever it is...

For his eMail address see "?" > "Info" in the menu. Give him a hint to our thread, too: http://www.ahnenblattportal.de/viewtopic.php?p=55584#55584

Frido

_________________
Aktuell Win10-64 pro 2004, Ahnenblatt 3.15 - Daten via NAS, Programm lokal

Empfehlung: Für die neue Version 3.1x alle relevanten Handbücher lesen! Book (es gibt mehrere!)

OfflineView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private message    
Guest












PostPosted: 31.08.2018, 10:59    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Thank you
Yes I will do it.

Because if my Gedcom is not standard I must find what to change in it.

Online    
Guest












PostPosted: 31.08.2018, 11:53    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

I think the anomaly comes from:
notes, sources or repositeries, I search by ittérations

Online    
Guest












PostPosted: 31.08.2018, 17:31    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

Older versions supported an "anomaly" of my Gedcom, the mix of some notes and sources, this is no longer the case, so I changed my Gedcom output script (full respect 5.5) and it works (2.9a and 3.0 b7)

So it's ok and thank you for your answers.

Online    
Fridolin
Super Moderator



Gender:

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 2461
Topics: 129
Location: Regio Rhein-Neckar


germany.gif

PostPosted: 31.08.2018, 17:35    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

What do you mean by repositories?

Do you mean image files that are integrated directly into the GEDCOM file? By a BLOB (binary large objects)?

Usually media files are stored separately and are packed aside to a GEDCOM file. In version 5.5, there was the possibility of inserting BLOBs into a GEDCOM file, but the support was already discontinued in version 5.5.1 - so I think, that Ahnenblatt wouldn't support such things. But, at least, it should cope with the existance (even if not imported).

Frido

_________________
Aktuell Win10-64 pro 2004, Ahnenblatt 3.15 - Daten via NAS, Programm lokal

Empfehlung: Für die neue Version 3.1x alle relevanten Handbücher lesen! Book (es gibt mehrere!)

OfflineView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private message    
bjew
Super Moderator



Gender:
Age: 71
Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 3853
Topics: 119
Location: südlicher gehts fast nimmer (im Allgäu)


germany.gif

PostPosted: 31.08.2018, 17:48    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

im Netzt gibts Testprogramme für gedcom ....
evtl auch hier http://genwiki.genealogy.net/Kategorie:Hilfsprogramm

_________________
Bleibt gesund, Gruß
bjew (Bernhard) ------ manchmal etwas kurz angebunden - Support beendet (10/2020)

System: Win10 auf Laptop mit i7 --- Ahnenblatt 2.74, 2.99[o] u. V3.16

HiddenView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private message    
Fridolin
Super Moderator



Gender:

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 2461
Topics: 129
Location: Regio Rhein-Neckar


germany.gif

PostPosted: 31.08.2018, 19:03    (No subject)  Reply with quoteBack to top

BTW, Voyageur78s,

there are GEDCOM test programs out there in the inter-wilderness. I never used one, but I know of one named GEDCOM Validator. Maybe you want to check your file.

And I'm reminded of a change Dirk just effected in 2.99 or 2.99a in GEDCOM import because a date (!) consisting of more than 2000 characters crashed the import dialog.

Frido

_________________
Aktuell Win10-64 pro 2004, Ahnenblatt 3.15 - Daten via NAS, Programm lokal

Empfehlung: Für die neue Version 3.1x alle relevanten Handbücher lesen! Book (es gibt mehrere!)

OfflineView user's profilePersonal Gallery (1)Send private message    
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   




Show permissions


Board Security

Powered by Orion based on phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
CBACK Orion Style based on FI Theme
All times are GMT + 1 Hour



[ Page generation time: 0.092s (PHP: 85% - SQL: 15%) | SQL queries: 39 | GZIP enabled | Debug on ]